Thursday, August 22, 2019

Scarecrow Registration

Repeats every day until Fri Sep 20 2019.
Thursday, August 15, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, August 16, 2019 - 10:00am
Saturday, August 17, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, August 18, 2019 - 10:00am
Monday, August 19, 2019 - 10:00am
Tuesday, August 20, 2019 - 10:00am
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 - 10:00am
Thursday, August 22, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, August 23, 2019 - 10:00am
Saturday, August 24, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, August 25, 2019 - 10:00am
Monday, August 26, 2019 - 10:00am
Tuesday, August 27, 2019 - 10:00am
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 - 10:00am
Thursday, August 29, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, August 30, 2019 - 10:00am
Saturday, August 31, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, September 1, 2019 - 10:00am
Monday, September 2, 2019 - 10:00am
Tuesday, September 3, 2019 - 10:00am
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 - 10:00am
Thursday, September 5, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, September 6, 2019 - 10:00am
Saturday, September 7, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, September 8, 2019 - 10:00am
Monday, September 9, 2019 - 10:00am
Tuesday, September 10, 2019 - 10:00am
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 - 10:00am
Thursday, September 12, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, September 13, 2019 - 10:00am
Saturday, September 14, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, September 15, 2019 - 10:00am
Monday, September 16, 2019 - 10:00am
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 - 10:00am
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 - 10:00am
Thursday, September 19, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, September 20, 2019 - 10:00am

October 3- November 3, 2019

REGISTER ONLINE 

Think outside the overalls! Get in the spirit of fall by participating in a Garden tradition. This is your chance to display your creativity in the Garden's annual Scarecrow display. Registration is open to anyone. It is a perfect activity to do as a group OR as an individual. The sky is the limit as far as what you can do... think BIG, think small, think old, young, human and non-human, traditional and original, old-school and new-school.  Scarecrows aare commonly thought of as taking a humanoid form, but yours does not, it can be abstract or humanoid. Use your IMAGINATION!

Rally your friends, family, students, co-workers and comrades and join us in a well-loved feature of Autumn In the Garden.  

IMPORTANT DATES

Registration Opens: Thursday, August 15
Registration Due: Friday, Sept. 20.  Register here with credit card. 
Scarecrow Drop-off: Thursday, Sept. 26, 10 a.m.- 8 p.m. or Friday,-Monday, Sept. 27 - 30, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. 

Scarecrow Pick-up:  Nov. 5-9, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. or by appointment by Nov. 9.

Scarecrows will be on display for visitors Thursday, Oct. 3 to Sunday, Nov. 3

Entry fee: $15 for non-profits, schools, scouts and other youth organizations; $20 for families or individuals; $25 for businesses
NEW this year: Each registered entry will receive passes for admission to our Opening Night of Autumn in the Garden, Thursday, Oct. 3, 5-8 p.m. with Music from David Horne, food truck, and cash bar. (10 for non-profit/youth organizations; 4 for individuals/families; 4 for businesses - passes issued upon scarecrow drop-off)

Awards: 
People's Choice Award will be determined by votes from visitors to the Garden - $100 prize and free entry for 2020. 
Best in Show will also receive a $100 prize and free entry for 2020.  

 IMPORTANT DETAILS

  • Your scarecrow will be outdoors, exposed to the sometimes harsh conditions of Oklahoma weather, including wind and rain, for a month. Please keep these elements in mind when designing and engineering your scarecrow. Attach everything firmly and avoid using materials that may blow away easily or be ruined in rain. The Garden will mount your scarecrow on a T-post (we provide) and install in either the ground or a hay bale (provided). If your scarecrow is going to be larger than 6 feet, please let us know ahead of time and we will work with you on an alternate installation strategy.  

  • Your scarecrow will be viewed by all ages. so please, keep it family-friendly. Political and religous messaging is not allowed.  Anything deemed in poor taste by Garden staff will not be accepted, and we reserve the right to refuse/remove scarecrows not suitable for display. 

  • Garden staff will determine placement and installation of each scarecrow. Signage will be provided that will list your name (or group or business name) along with your scarecrow's title. 

  • Questions and concerns regarding any special considerations can be directed to Maggie Regan at 918-289-0330 or maggie@tulsabotanic.org 

REGISTER ONLINE 

 

 

Family Craft Night

Repeats every week every Thursday until Fri Aug 30 2019.
Thursday, August 8, 2019 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Thursday, August 15, 2019 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Thursday, August 22, 2019 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Thursday, August 29, 2019 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Families can make a different nature-themed craft each week from August 8 to 29. Drop in anytime between 6 and 8 p.m. for craft and then enjoy some time exploring the Garden. Bring a picnic dinner if you like.  The Garden is open on Thursdays in August from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.  Crafts are free with Garden admission.

August 8: Seed Mosaics
August 15: Petal Mandalas
August 22: Drawing Flowers
August 29: Nature Collages 

Tulsa Botanic Garden is open Tuesday-Sunday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. with extended hours (9 a.m. to 9 p.m. in June, July and August) on Thursdays.  Admission is FREE for Garden members; $8 for ages 13+, $4 for ages 3-12. Children 2 and under are free.  Pets are not allowed, except for specified Dog Day or Nights.

Tulsa Botanic Garden is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization. Garden memberships, donations, programs, and income from weddings and private events all help support the Garden's operation and development.